Sunday, June 24, 2018
Text Size

Swedes beat larger schools to win NP debate/speech meet

Team takes home sweepstakes award for sixth year

Swede speech team members pulled off a big win Saturday, topping 24 schools (that included several Class A schools) to bring home the sweepstakes plaque.

It was the sixth time the team has captured the crown.

Students competed in a two-day debate and speech contest in North Platte where there was varsity and novice debate competition Friday and varsity-only speech on Saturday.

To be eligible for the sweepstakes award, teams had to compete both days.

When the dust settled, Gothenburg has 474 points while Fremont trailed with 186.

Norfolk was third with 104 points.

Speech team adviser Dan Jensen said he was pleased with his students’ performance.

In nine events Saturday, Jensen said Gothenburg had 27 finalists.

“Kids were ‘on’ for both preliminary rounds, which is something we have struggled with in the past,” he said.

Starting the speech meet Saturday, Jensen said the Swedes trailed Fremont by 64 points but made up the deficit quickly.

In Student Congress, Maddy Costello brought home gold in varsity competition which means she received the most votes from her peers in congress. Costello was also recognized as the best of three students who took turns presiding over congress, as selected by the official scorer.

Costello was also named outstanding presiding officer during varsity competition which means selection by the official scorer as best of three students who presided over three sessions.

Carlin Daharsh was named outstanding presiding officer in the novice division and received a first-place medal in extemporaneous speaking during the speech portion of the meet on Saturday.

Jon Rehmert and Kayla Trevino teamed up in public forum debate to earn first place in the novice division.

This weekend, the team travels to Grand Island Northwest for competition.

Besides Gothenburg, Fremont and Norfolk, teams who competed included: North Platte, Paxton, Brady, Gering, Chadron, Ogallala, Julesburg, CO; Ainsworth, Hastings, Scottsbluff, Hershey, Perkins County, Arthur County, Maxwell, Wallace, Dundy County/Stratton, Callaway, South Platte, Valentine, North Platte St. Pat’s, Lexington and Stapleton.

Individual places included:

Student Congress—Varsity: 3. Cale Moore, 4. Charlie Grabbing Bear; Novice: 2. Carlin Daharsh.

Extemporaneous speaking—3. Jon Rehmert, 4. Carson Messersmith, 5. Ashley Wilkerson, 7. Abbie Mazour, 8. Cale Moore, 10. Kristin Bartlett; superior ribbon, Morgan Kowalewski.

Persuasive speaking—2. Madison Costello, 9. Alayna Collins, 12. Rebecca Miller; superior ribbon, Jon Rehmert, Amanda Kowalewski, Kelsey Kuhlman and Cale Moore.

Informative speaking—2. Carlin Daharsh, 7. Jessica Schmidt, 8. Maddy Costello; superior ribbon, Amanda Kowalewski and Cody Cooper.

Entertainment speaking—4. Ryan Ostendorf; superior ribbons, Cale Moore and Kelsey Kuhlman.

Humorous prose—2. Jeramie VanAcker, 4. Abbie Mazour, 6. Josh Clark, 7. Makayla Franzen; superior ribbon, Shaylee Scott, Carlie Stevens, Drake Brand, Kristin Bartlett and Bailey Gibbons.

Serious prose—2. Jeramie Van

Acker, 8. Ashley Wilkerson; superior ribbon, Carlin Daharsh, Rachel Rice and MacKenzie Brand.

Poetry—2. Maddy Costello, 7. Kennedy Wahlgren, 12. McKenzie Brand.

Duet acting—2. Makayla Franzen and Jeramie VanAcker; 6. Kayla Trevino and Carlie Stevens, 11. Morgan Kowalewski and Bailey Gibbens.

Oral interpretation of drama—8. Mackenzie Brand, Makayla Franzen, Amanda Larson, Morgan Kowalewski and Carlie Stevens; 9. Ryan Ostendorf, Cody Cooper, Carson Messersmith, Kelsey Kuhlman and Rachel Rice.

Also competing were Shelby Loostrom, Dillon Gartner, Kyle Maline, Haley Cline, Jessica Stevens and Beth Whitney.