Thursday, September 20, 2018
Text Size

Swede boys return solid nucleus

Gothenburg hopes to build around experience.

From throwing events and jumps to both sprints and distance races, the Swedes boys return a strong group of talented athletes to the track this spring.

Six state qualifiers and 16 letter winners form a nice nucleus for coach Steve Reeves.


“It’s the same age-old story though,” Reeves said. “We’re going to have to try to find some depth and we have to stay healthy.”


Strengths for the Swedes will come across the board.

Reeves has state qualifiers Tannor Mroczek back in the sprints with Andrew Collins and Brett Dockweiler in the distance races.

In between is Mark Hilderbrand who qualified in the 300-meter hurdles.

Then Reeves is looking at replacing only one runner on both the 4x100 and 4x400 relays.

Add in experienced boys in the shot, the pole vault and middle distance races and the Swedes are far from one-dimentional.

“We’re pretty balanced,” Reeves said. “We just don’t have a lot of depth.”

That’s something underclassmen will be working to provide.

Reeves expects the Swedes to rise to the top among Southwest Conference competition.

He said judging from the successes of the fall and winter activities in other schools and by the talent returning, Ogallala and Broken Bow could challenge Gothenburg for a conference title this season.

The Swedes edged Ogallala in the SWC meet last year.

The district will offer plenty of stiff competition again this year as Gothenburg returns to the B-6. The meet will be in Scottsbluff in May.

Teams include Alliance, Chadron, Gering, Gothenburg, McCook, Mitchell, Ogallala, Scottsbluff, Sidney and Valentine.

“It’s always a tough district,” Reeves said, “but that’s what we work toward all season.”

Gothenburg opens the track and field season on Friday at the University of Nebraska at Kearney Indoor Invite.

The meet serves as a warm-up to the rest of the year, Reeves said.

Competition for Class B teams begins at 1 p.m.

Members of the 2010 Swede boys track team are (*denotes letter winner):

SENIORS—Jared Blauvelt, Andrew Collins*, Landen Haake*, Mark Hilderbrand*, Patrick Reeves*, Tyler Sheets*, Eric Stevens*, Joel Teahon*.

JUNIORS—Jonathon Clark*, Dustin Koubek, Branndon McMichael*, Dillon McMichael*, Tannor Mro-czek*, Tracy Nelson, Luke Rehmert*, Tanner Schwanz*.

SOPHOMORES—Korey Ahlenstorf, Brett Dockweiler*, Bryce Eggleston*, Dane Ehlers, Cameron Frazho, Ernie Galvan, Paxton Gruber, Justin Larson, Kerry McPheeters, Josh Portiner, Brandon Wlasiuk*.

FRESHMEN—Marcos Avalos, Eric Cole, Aaron Collins, Dillon Gartner, Charlie Grabbing Bear, Logan Koehler, Dillon Larson, Kyle Maline, Jake Matthies, Ray Ramirez, Logan Sheets, Alex Spencer, Jacob Williams.

Receive the entire issue of the Gothenburg Times on-line in PDF format each Wednesday for only $25 per year. Call 308-537-3636 to subscribe.