Saturday, June 23, 2018
Text Size

FFA’ers, others honored at annual banquet

State convention participants recognized.

Gothenburg’s FFA organization celebrated the year with its annual banquet Monday at the school.

John and Mary Lou Block and Kris Epke received appreciation awards for their involvement in FFA.


The senior parliamentary procedure team was also honored for its second place at state convention earlier this month.


Following the recognition of new and old officers, and state winners and participants, members had a labor auction.

Officers named for the 2010-11 school year include: Aaron Lauer, president; Brennan Costello, vice president; Chris Block, treasurer; Kerry McPheeters, secretary; Dane Wilson, sentinel; Jourdan Matthies, parliamentarian; Kyle Kleinknecht, FFA Enterprises; Kyle Demoret and Peyton Maline, reporters .

Those receiving state degrees at the state FFA convention in Lincoln April 7-9 were Aaron Block, Kristi Block, Tommy France, Michelle Jack, Tyler Sheets, Stephanie Rubenthaler and Nolan Wilson.

State winners and participants at the convention included:

Creed speaking—5. Madison Costello.

Senior public speaking—2. Brennan Costello.

Extemporaneous speaking—2. Aaron Block.

Senior parliamentary team—2. Joanna Blecha, Kristi Block, Tommy France, Kelsey Houchin, Vanessa Linegar, Stephanie Rubenthaler, and Alternate Tyler Sheets.

Junior parliamentary team—Silver medal. Cale Moore, Peyton Maline, Tyler Aden, Kerry McPheeters, Alix Meisinger, Dillon Linegar and alternate Heather Lunkwitz.

Ag Sales—7. Individually and purple ribbon, Zach Heibner Purple; white ribbon Peyton Maline; Shay Wear and Heidi Teahon.

Ag communications—4. Individually and purple ribbon, Kaylea Beyea; white ribbons, Megan Portiner, Amanda McMichael and Jamie Messersmith.

Ag science—5. team members Ty Brock, Logan Koehler, Morgan Kowalewski, Logan Sheets; purple ribbon, Kowalewski; blue ribbons, Koehler and Sheets; white ribbon, Brock.

Agronomy—10. team members Chris Block, Kyle Demoret, Trent Good, Michelle Jack; blue ribbons, Block and Demoret; white ribbons, Good and Jack.

Farm Management—14. team members Jourdan Matthies, Nolan Wilson, Korey White, Andrew Kennedy; blue ribbon, Matthies, red ribbon, Wilson; white ribbon, White.

Senior livestock—20. team members Kyle Kleinknecht, Dillon McMichael, Cody Ostergard, Dane Wilson; blue ribbons, McMichael and Wilson; white ribbon, Ostergard.

Junior livestock—8. individually and purple ribbon, Cooper Brott; red ribbon, Kristin Bartlett; Bailey Gibbens and Heather Lunkwitz.

Meats—Blue ribbons, Jacob Boehle, Caleb Geiger Dalton Goodwin; Kyle Maline.

Food Science—Red ribbon, Sidney Thompson; white ribbon, Jayde Keiser; Bailey Gibbens and Michelle Jack.

Welding—Aaron Lauer, arc; Tracy Nelson, mig; Josh Williams, Oxy.

Star greenhand—Madison Costello.

Star chapter farmer—Nolan Wilson.

Star agricultural placement—Tyler Sheets.

Star agribusiness—Aaron Block and Tommy France.

Public speaking awards—Madison Costello, creed; Aaron Block, extemporaneous; Brennan Costello, senior public.

Salesman Of The Year—Jamie Messersmith.

Work horse awards—Kyle Demoret and Brennan Costello.

Washington leadership awards—Madison Costello and Chris Block.

Receive the entire issue of the Gothenburg Times on-line in PDF format each Wednesday for only $25 per year. Call 308-537-3636 to subscribe.