Friday, July 29, 2016
Text Size

Swede coaches present awards to fall athletes

Coaches of fall sports at Gothenburg High School presented athletes with awards during a banquet Monday night.

Participants in football, volleyball, cross country, softball and golf received recognition.

Summer lifter awards were presented to Dane Ehlers and Abie Jensen.

The school’s major awards—the Dutch Zorn and Jack Logan awards—will still be presented in the spring.

Girls Golf

Most Valuable—Anna Boson and Jourdan Matthies

Most Improved—Heidi Teahon

SWC honorable mention—Heidi Teahon

Academic all-state—Jourdan Matthies

Letter winners— Anna Boson, Jourdan Matthies, Saraid Baca, Kristin Bartlett, Heidi Teahon, Courtney Brown, Sydney Sell

Cross Country

Most Valuable—Abbie Mazour, Brett Dockweiler

Hardest Worker—Ashlee Bruntz, Lauren Schmiett, Bryce Eggleston, Joshua Clark

Outstanding Performance—Abbie Mazour, Luke Rehmert

Rookie of the year—Betsy Potter, Aaron Collins

SWC—Abbie Mazour, Luke Rehmert, Joshua Clark

Academic all-state—Ashlee Bruntz, Morgan Kowalewski, Joshua Clark, Chris Block

Letter winners—Ashlee Bruntz, Lauren Schmiett, Morgan Kowalewski, Theresa Richey, Abbie Mazour, Betsy Potter, Chris Block, Brennan Costello, Luke Rehmert, Joshua Clark, Brett Dockweiler, Bryce Eggleston, Justin Larson, Aaron Collins, Alex Spencer


Most Valuable Player—Jacey Wiggins

Most Improved Varsity—Taylor Mroczek

Most Improved Reserve—Kelsey Wahlgren

Hustle Award—McKenzie Geiken

Team spirit award—Ali Clark

Academic all-state—Janae Wiggins, McKenzie Geiken

Letter winners— Joslyn Oliver, Ali Clark, Janae Wiggins, McKenzie Geiken, Abby Ambler, Abie Jensen, Makayla Franzen, Erica Houchin, Jacey Wiggins, Madison Costello, Regan Geiken, Taylor Mroczek, Aryn Meisinger


Most Valuable Player—Shelby Eggleston

Most Improved Varsity—Hanna Wolf

Most Improved Reserve—Jamie Messersmith

Most Dedicated—Karen Franzen

Miss Spirit Award—Alisha Ballmer

Clutch Hit Award—Shelby Eggleston

Defensive Play of the Year—KaTrina Winter

Rookie of the Year—Emily Franzen

Omaha World Herald all-sate—Honorable mention: Shelby Eggleston

Lincoln Journal Star all-state—Honorable mention: Shelby Eggleston

Academic all-state—Shelby Eggleston, Jordyn Haake

Letter winners—Alisha Ballmer, Roni Putnam, Siera Schwanz, Payton Prall, Jordyn Haake, Leah Schwanz, Hanna Wolf, Shelby Eggleston, Shay Wear, Taylor Wolf, KaTrina Winter, Amanda Barkmeier, Brittyn Munster, Karen Franzen


Most Valuable Defensive Player—Tyler Aden

Most Valuable Offensive Player—Tyler Aden

Most Valuable Special Teams Player—Trent Long

Most Improved Player—Levi Walker

Academic all-state—Tanner Schwanz, Dane Wilson

Letter winners—Cody Ostergard, Tanner Schwanz, Tannor Mroczek, Trent Good, Dillon McMichael, Andrew Kennedy, Kyle Kleinknecht, Branndon McMichael, Alex Schultz, Kyle Demoret, Dane Wilson, Aaron Lauer, Tre Ostergard, Jack Dudley, Jackson Graham, Dillon Linegar, Tyler Aden, Dane Ehlers, Levi Walker, Patric Jobman, Korey Ahlenstorf, Ernie Galvan, Preston Franzen, Logan Sheets, Dillon Gartner, Noah Tripp, Trent Long

Weather Forecast

Click for Gothenburg, Nebraska Forecast

e-Subscription Login