Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Text Size

Kugler elected county board chairman

LEXINGTON—Gothenburg’s representative will lead the Dawson County board of commissioners through 2011.

Dean Kugler of Gothenburg was elected chairman of the board during the annual statutory meeting on Friday.

Kugler, who replaces Bill Stewart of Lexington as the chairman, has served on the county board since 2004.

PJ Jacobson of Cozad will serve as the vice chair.

The board also made its annual appointments to county offices—keeping all current employees in place—and Kugler assigned commissioners to committees including board newcomer Dennis Rickertsen of Overton who replaced retiring commissioner Roger Bauer.

County depositories were selected and include all banks in Dawson County. The Times will publish legal notices for the coming year and the Tri-City Tribune will print commissioner proceedings.

The board approved 11 courthouse holidays as well.

In other business, commissioners set public hearings on two special use permit requests.

Viaero’s request to build a cell phone tower northeast of Eddyville hit a snag last month because notice was not published in Custer County.

The construciton area lies within three miles of the Custer County line so all legal notices must be published in that county as well.

Dawson County’s planning and zoning board unanimously recommended approval by the county board.

The other permit request came from Paulsen Inc. of Cozad for a sand and gravel extraction site southeast of Cozad.

It was also unanimously recommended for approval by the planning and zoning board.

County commissioners will hear public comments on both

Find the complete story in our print edition. Receive the entire issue of the Gothenburg Times on-line in PDF format each Wednesday for only $25 per year. Call 308-537-3636 to subscribe.