Sunday, June 24, 2018
Text Size

Eight Eagles earn all-conference honor

Four Brady girls and four boys have earned post-season recognition from basketball coaches in the Sandhills Conference.

Juniors Courtney Widick, Megan Polt and Maggie Burke were voted to the SHC all-conference team by coaches from the seven participating athletic programs.

Widick and Burke were also included on the Lincoln Journal Star’s all-state honorable mention list for Class D-2 girls.

Other players on the all-conference team and the school they represent are: Haley Gunnick of Cody-Kilgore; Sarah Ramsay of Hyannis; Mardee Sierks and Tricia Young of Mullen; Shelby Saner and Kadi McFadden of Sandhills/Thedford; Ashley Bessmer of Stapleton/McPherson County.

Eagle senior Jessica Schrad earned honorable mention.

Others receiving honorable mention were Tatiana Hill of Arthur County; Marcy Kalenda and Karrsa Lamie of Cody-Kilgore; Madison Tomlinson and Clara Vinton of Mullen, Tylee Coffman and Michaela Miles of Sandhills/Thedford; Molly Hinkle and Shelby Klosen of Stapleton/McPherson County.

Junior boys Sawyer Burke and Tyler Egenberger along with senior Christian Arterburn were named to the SHC boys all-conference team.

Other boys on the all-conference list were Derek Powers of Arthur; Luke Miller and Jake Gale of Cody-Kilgore; Bryon Ferguson of Hyannis; Gabe Connealy of Mullen; Kale Anderson and Tyler Lee of Sandhills/Thedford.

Brady senior Brad Ward was among the boys receiving honorable mention.

Those from other schools on the honorable mention list are: Matt Simpson of Arthur County; Taylor Ostransky of Cody-Kilgore; Pierre Sanchez of Hyannis; Jake Spies and Zach Call of Mullen; Brady Marten of Sandhills/Thedford; Gordon Needs, Zach Kramer and Sawyer Hanna of Stapleton/McPherson County.