Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Text Size

GHS coaches present Swede athletes with honors

Gothenburg High School coaches presented Swede athletes with awards and honored all letter winners during a banquet on May 18.

Highlighting the event was the announcement of the 2011 special award winners, including 12-sport honorees.

Ali Clark and Tannor Schwanz received the Dutch Zorn Award. The honor is presented annually to the top three-sport senior girl and boy letter winner.

Clark lettered in volleyball, basketball and track while Schwanz is a letter winner in football, wrestling and track.

Tannor Mroczek earned the Jack Logan award for football excellence. The award is given to an outstanding senior two-year football letterman.

Mroczek was a running back and defensive back for the 2011 Swede football team as well as Gothenburg’s key kick returner. He rushed for 1,817 yards in his career averaging 7.33 yards per carry as a senior.

Mroczek holds the school record for kick return and punt return season average.

The 12-sport award is presented to any high school athlete who has been involved in a sport during each season of his or her high school career.

Eight seniors qualified: Brennan Costello, Branndon McMichael, Dillon McMichael, Tanner Schwanz, Ali Clark, Karen Franzen, McKenzie Geiken and Janae Wiggins.

Following are past winners of the Dutch Zorn Award and awards for the various sports. Fall athletes were recognized earlier this year.

Zorn award history

BOYS—2010, Mark Hilderbrand; 2009, Aaron Demoret; 2008, Alex Paul; 2007, Justin Wilson; 2006, Levi Fickenscher; 2005, Dustin Walker; 2004, Jordon Folkers and Matt Hilderbrand; 2003, Jeff Neujahr; 2002, Nathan Cheetsos; 2001, Brandon Koch and Blake Lambert; 2000, Pat Clark; 1999, Ross Hicken and Joe Johnson; 1998, Jeff Ellis; 1997, J.P. Thomalla; 1996, Shane Butterfield; 1995, Jeff Pramberg; 1994, Danny Kreis; 1993, Tony Brass; 1992, Heath Haynes; 1991, Willie Leahy; 1990, Adam Plank; 1989, Wade Fleischer; 1988, Joe Hudson and David Stevens; 1987, Shane Geiken; 1986, Rod Lohse and Travis Brock; 1985, Bump Novacek; 1984, Yancey Keiser; 1983, Terry Pramberg; 1982, Bob Edson; 1981, Jay Novacek; 1980, Lennie Ambler; 1979, Steve Dudley.

GIRLS—2010, Emily Max; 2009, Brooke Ballmer, 2008, Katie Keiser; 2007, no qualifying recipient; 2006, Kaitlyn Peterson; 2005, Kiley Peterson; 2004, Jamie Gonzalez; 2003, Cara Fisher; 2002, Jamie Jorgensen; 2001, Cassie Holmes; 2000,no qualifying recipient; 1999, Rachel Neujahr; 1998, Michelle Sitorius and Lindsey Stevens; 1997, Alison Bryant and Crystal Jareske; 1996, no qualifying recipient; 1995, Trina Franzen, Hallie Stevens and Stacy Hicken; 1994, Amber Schlichenmaier; 1993, Kim Ritola; 1992, Kara Fecht; 1991, Tina Peterson; 1990, Mary Karol Raymond and Rebecca Hecox; 1989, Elizabeth Healey; 1988, Cassie Janssen; 1987, Kristi Wahlgren; 1986, no qualifying recipient; 1985, Tricia Dudley; 1984, Brenda Peterson; 1983, Shelly Block; 1982, Michelle Wiggins; 1981, Lisa Franzen; 1980, Lori Miller.

Boys Basketball

Mr. Hustle—Branndon McMichael

All-Around—Cody Ostergard and Korey Ahlenstorf

Most Improved—Logan Koehler

Best Teammate—Logan Sheets

Southwest Conferece second team—Korey Ahlenstorf, Logan Koehler

Southwest Conferece third team—Cody Ostergard

Lincoln Journal Star and Associated Press Honorable Mention All-State—Cody Ostergard

Academic All-State—Alix Meisinger and Jeramie VanAcker

Letter Winners—Brennan Costello, Jack Dudley, Dillon McMichael, Branndon McMichael, Cody Ostergard, Josh Williams, Dane Wilson, Korey Ahlenstorf, Brett Dockweiler, Alix Meisinger, Jeramie VanAcker, Aaron Collins, Logan Koehler, Logan Sheets


Most Valuable Player—Shelby Eggleston

Swede Hustle Award—Shelby Eggleston

Most Improved—Payton Prall

Swede Spirit—Taylor Wolf

Leadership Awards—Janae Wiggins and Karen Franzen

Southwest Conference third team—Shelby Eggleston, Karen Franzen

Academic All-State—Shelby Eggleston, Payton Prall

Letter Winners—Janae Wiggins, Shelby Eggleston, Karen Franzen, Jordyn Haake, McKenzie Geiken, Ali Clark, Payton Prall, Brittyn Munster, Taylor Wolf, Jacey Wiggins, Regan Geiken, Emily Franzen, Taylor Mroczek, Rebecca Anderson


Most Improved Wrestler Varsity—Dalton Goodwin

Most Improved Wrestler JV—Preston Franzen

Outstanding Wrestler—Mitch Spiegel

Thor Award—Kyle Demoret

Academic All-State—Tanner Schwanz, Tre Ostergard

Letter Winners—Mitch Speigel, Tanner Schwanz, Bryce Eggleston, Justin Larson, Kyle Kleinknecht, Trent Good, Skyler Kottwitz, Tyler Block, Kyle Demoret, Dalton Goodwin, Cameron Frazho, Tre Ostergard, Dane Ehlers, Dillon Gartner, Ernie Galvin

Boys Track

Most Valuable—Tannor Mroczek

Outstanding Performance—Tanner Schwanz

Most Versatile—Cody Ostergard, Brandon Wlasiuk

Most Improved—Brett Dockweiler

Chris Metzger Award—Dillon Gartner

Rookie of the Year—Blake Ristine, Preston Franzen

Academic All-State—Tanner Schwanz, Logan Sheets

Letter Winners—Jonathon Clark, Branndon McMichael, Dillon McMichael, Tannor Mroczek, Tracy Nelson, Cody Ostergard, Luke Rehmert, Tanner Schwanz, Brett Dockweiler, Bryce Eggleston, Dane Ehlers, Ernie Galvin, Paxton Gruber, Brandon Wlasiuk, Aaron Collins, Preston Franzen, Dillon Gartner, Logan Koehler, Jake Matthies, Logan Sheets, Alex Spencer, Skyler Kottwitz, Blake Ristine

Girls Track

Most Valuable—Abby Ambler

Outstanding Performance—Ali Clark, Joslyn Oliver

Most Versatile—Abby Ambler

Chris Metzger Award—Emily Franzen

Rookie of the Year—Regan Geiken

Most Improved—Kersten Nelson

Academic All-State—Payton Prall, Janae Wiggins

Letter Winners—Abby Ambler, Amanda Bodfield, Ali Clark, Karen Franzen, McKenzie Geiken, Abie Jensen, Joslyn Oliver, Janae Wiggins, Erica Houchin, Kersten Nelson, Payton Prall, Kelsey Wahlgren, Kenzie Hiebner, Morgan Kowalewsk, Siera Schwanz, Shay Wear, Emily Franzen, Regan Geiken, Kyndal Holmes, Shelby Mannel, Abbie Mazour, Aryn Meisinger, Taylor Mroczek, Rachel Stubbs, Kennedy Wahlgren

Boys Golf

Most Valuable Player—Matthew Marshall

Most Improved Player—Levi Siemering

Southwest Conference First Team—Jackson Graham

Southwest Conference Third Team—Matthew Marshall, Jeramie VanAcker

Academic All-State—Jeramie VanAcker, Matthew Marshall

Letter Winners—Jeramie VanAcker, Jackson Graham, Matt Marshall, Coltin Bebensee, Trenton Long, Nathan Graham, Taylor Walker, Dillon Linegar, Brennan Costello, Levi Siemering, Alix Meisinger