Thursday, September 20, 2018
Text Size

Daharsh wins two golds at Broken Bow

Many Swedes get speech medals.

Sophomore competitor Carlin Daharsh was a double winner at Saturday’s speech meet in Broken Bow.

Daharsh won golds in both extemporaneous and informative speaking.

Speech team adviser Dan Jensen said he felt students made significant progress which was reflected in how they placed at the meet.

Besides the Swedes, 22 other schools were in attendance that included North Platte, Burwell, Ord, Broken Bow, Ainsworth, Elwood, Brady, Perkins County, Arcadia, Eustis-Farnam, Cozad, Ansley, Callaway, Lexington, Loup County, North-Loup Scotia, Valentine, Sargent, Minden, Kearney Catholic, Elm Creek and Loup City.

On Saturday, the Swedes will return to Grand Island Senior High for the second of two Central Nebraska Forensic League contests.

Other results are as follow:

Extemporaneous speaking—Varsity: 2. Kayla Trevino, 3. Morgan Kowalewski, 5. Betsy Potter, 6. Cale Moore, 9. Carson Messersmith, 10. Abbie Mazour; superior ribbon: Ashley Wilkerson, Jonathan Rehmert; Novice: 3. Jacob Boehle, 4. Hailey Maline, 5. Shelby Loostrom.

Persuasive speaking—Varsity: 5. Maddy Costello, 7. Kelsey Kuhlman, 8. Jonathan Rehmert, 10. Rebecca Miller.

Informative speaking—3. Maddy Costello, 5. Jessica Schmidt; Novice: 6. Dillon Gartner.

Entertainment speaking—Varsity: 9. Cale Moore; superior ribbon, Kelsey Kuhlman.

Humorous prose—3. Josh Clark; 4. Jeramie VanAcker, 7. Shaylee Scott; superior ribbon, Makayla Franzen, Kristin Bartlett, Drake Brand.

Serious prose—-Varsity: 4. Jeramie VanAcker, 7. (tie) Betsy Potter and MacKenzie Brand; superior ribbon, Carlin Daharsh and Ashley Wilkerson.

Poetry—Varsity: 4. Madison Costello, 5. Mackenzie Brand; superior ribbon, Kennedy Wahlgren and Abbie Mazour.

Duet acting—Varsity: 3. Kayla Trevino and Carlie Stevens, 4. Makayla Franzen and Jeramie VanAcker; superior ribbon, Betsy Potter and Abbie Mazour; Morgan Kowalewski and Bailey Gibbens; novice—5. Haley Maline and Shelby Loostrom.

Oral interpretation of drama—Varsity: 4. Mackenzie Brand, Carlie Stevens, Amanda Larson, Morgan Kowalewski and Alyssa Salem; superior ribbon, Rachel Rice, Kennedy Wahlgren, Ryan Ostendorf, Carson Messersmith and Kelsey Kuhlman; Kaylee Beyea, Leah Loostrom and Brett Mann; Novice: 7. Dillon Gartner, Archer Jensen, Jacob Boehle, Mallory McCoy and Danielle Schriver.

Also competing was Kyle Maline.