Friday, September 21, 2018
Text Size

Franzen new face on school board

Longtime Brady resident Bryan Franzen is the only challenger from both the school board and village board to gain a seat during last week’s general election.

Four candidates vied for three seats on the Brady school board.

Incumbents Marge Spencer and TJ Walker retained their positions for another four-year term by finishing in the top two spots.

Spencer received the most votes among school board candidates with 312.

Franzen and fellow challenger Ryan Stearns were competing for the third opening on the school board, left vacant after longtime board member Harry Haythorn chose not to run for re-election.

In the village board race, all three incumbents will remain on the board.

Todd Roe and Lynn Herrick earned the most votes with Roe receiving 153 and Herrick getting 135.

Board chairman Jeff Miller, who had decided earlier not to run but jumped in late as an official write-in, retains his seat on the board.

Miller defeated declared candidate Rodrick Brown as well as fellow official write-in Jerry Riewe.

All three seats on the village board are four-year terms.

In other local election results, Rod Rayburn, also of Brady, kept his position as the Educational Service Unit 16 District 2 representative earning 1,409 votes.

Rayburn ran unopposed in the race.