Sunday, June 24, 2018
Text Size

Gothenburg students earn World War II scholarships

Gothenburg High School seniors Madison Costello and Morgan Kowalewski are among eight winners of the Nebraskans of World War II Scholarships and the Pearl Harbor Remembrance Award.

The students were selected from more than 50 schools across the state for these scholarships, which are endowed by Nebraskans on behalf of Nebraska war heroes.

“This year’s student essays were remarkable,” said Leslie Fattig, Nebraska State Historical Society Foundation executive director. “It is very gratifying to know that history matters to Nebraska’s young people. It isn’t just a subject or course to them—it’s a vital part of their lives, and informs their personal points of view.”

The Nebraskans of World War II Scholarship Fund was created to memorialize the brave men and women of Nebraska who served their country fighting for the freedoms of millions of people. Two Lincoln servicemen in particular have been memorialized by their families through these scholarships: Edward J. Clough and Adrian B. DePutron.

The Nebraskans of World War II Scholarship recipients include Costello.

The Pearl Harbor Remembrance Award was created by Colonel Barney Oldfield and his wife Vada to honor the 22 Nebraskans who were killed during the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and remain entombed in the U.S.S. Arizona.

The Pearl Harbor Remembrance Fund provided an award to four high school seniors from the school districts that encompass the communities that were hometowns to the entombed Nebraskan sailors. 

Kowalewski is a recipient of the Pearl Harbor Scholarship.