Thursday, September 20, 2018
Text Size

Swede athletes recognized at sports program

Gothenburg High School coaches presented Swede athletes with awards and honored all letter winners for winter and spring sports Tuesday in the performing arts center.

Highlighting the event was the announcement of the 2013 special award winners, including 12-sport honorees.

Logan Sheets and Taylor Wolf received the Dutch Zorn Award. The honor is presented annually to the top three-sport senior boy and girl letter winner.

Sheets lettered in football, wrestling and track, while Wolf earned letters in softball, basketball and track.

Preston Franzen earned the Jack Logan award for football excellence. The award is given to an outstanding senior two-year football letterman.

Franzen led the Swedes in rushing with 881 yards and he tied for scoring honors with 36 points.

The 12-sport award is presented to any high school athlete who has been involved in a sport during each season of his or her high school career.

Five seniors qualified: Aaron Collins, Preston Franzen, Logan Koehler, Jacob Matthies and Logan Sheets.

Following are past winners of the Dutch Zorn Award and awards for the various sports. Fall athletes were recognized earlier this year.

SWC Academic All Conf.

Madison Costello, Volleyball; Morgan Kowalewski, Track; Carlie Stevens, Cross Country; Andrea Coder, Girls Golf; Brittyn Munster, Basketball; Logan Sheets, Basketball

NSAA Academic All State

Girls Golf—Andrea Coder & McKinley Harm

Softball—Brittyn Munster & Hanna Wolf

Girls Cross Country—Morgan Kowalewski & Abbigail Mazour

Boys Cross Country—Dylan France & Bryce Kowalewski

Volleyball—Madison Costello & Rachel Rice

Girls Basketball—Emily Franzen & Brittyn Munster

Boys Basketball—Blake Ristine & Logan Sheets

Boys Track & Field—Blake Ristine & Connor Schwanz

Girls Track & Field—Kyndal Holmes & Taylor Mroczek

Boys Golf—Trenton Long & Brett Mann

12 Sport Award Winners

Aaron Collins—Cross Country, Basketball, Track

Preston Franzen—Football, Basketball, Wrestling, Track

Logan Koehler—Football, Basketball, Track

Jacob Matthies—Football, Wrestling, Basketball, Track, Golf

Logan Sheets—Football, Basketball, Track

Summer Lifter Award (2012)

Brittyn Munster & Colby Simants

Girls Golf

Most Valuable—Heidi Teahon

Most Improved—McKinley Harm

Rookie of the Year—Mallory McCoy

Best Individual Performance—Taylour Marshall

Miss Congeniality—Andrea Coder

Team Spirit Award—Courtney Brown & Kelsey Kuhlman

Participation Award—Morgan Weaver, Sydney Sell, Alex Boson, Paula Cardenas

SWC—Andrea Coder, Hiedi Teahon, Mallory McCoy

State Qualifiers—Heidi Teahon, Andrea Coder, Mallory McCoy, McKinley Harm, Taylour Marshall

Letter Winners—Heidi Teahon, Andrea Coder, Courtney Brown, Kelsey Kuhlman, Mallory McCoy, Sydney Sell, Taylour Marshall, McKinley Harm

Cross Country

Most Valuable—Destiny McVay, Aaron Collins, Alex Spencer

Rookie of the Year—Jennifer Maline, Bryce Kowalewski

Hard Worker Award—Alayna Collins, Amanda Kowalewski, Abbie Mazour James Shuman

SWC—Destiny McVay

Letter Winners (girls)—Morgan Kowalewski, Carlie Stevens, Abbie Mazour, Betsy Potter, Alayna Collins, Holly Hudson, Amanda Kowalewski, Jennifer Maline, Destiny McVay

Letter Winners (boys)—Tyler Block, Aaron Collins, Kyle Maline, Alex Spencer, Seth Eggleston, James Shuman, Dylan France, Byce Kowalewski


Most Valuable Player—Jacey Wiggins

Most Improved (Varsity)—Tylyn Haynes

Most Improved (JV)—Kerry Wellman

Spirit Award—Maddy Costello

Hardest Worker—Regan Geiken

SWC 1st Team—Jacey Wiggins, Tiani Reeves

SWC Honorable Mention—Regan Geiken

LJS/AP/OWH Honorable Mention All State—Jacey Wiggins, Tiani Reeves,

Regan Geiken

Letter Winners—Bailey Aden, Kim Whiting, Madelyn Vogel, Rachel Rice, Tiani Reeves, Taylor Mroczek, Aryn Meisinger, McKenzi Hiebner, Tylyn Haynes, Regan Geiken, MaKaela Franzen, Madison Costello, Rebecca Anderson, Jacey Wiggins


MVP—Amanda Barkemeier

Most Improved Varisty—Katlin Harm

Most Improved (JV)—Haley Meyers

Most Dedicated—Shay Wear

Miss Spirit Award—Taylor Wolf

SWC—Not yet determined

Letter Winners—Brittyn Munster, Siera Schwanz, Hanna Wolf, Olivia LaFleur, Shay Wear, Ashley Eskew, Katlin Harm, Emily Franzen, Kyndal Holmes, Taylor Wolf, Becca Riley, Amanda Barkemeier


MVP Offense—Blake Ristine

MVP Defense—Logan Sheets

MVP Special Teams—Trenton Long

Most Improved—Connor Schwanz

Letter Winners—Noah Tripp, Blake Ristine, Connor Schwanz, Jacob Clark, Peston Franzen, Ross Ostendorf, Skyler Kottwitz, Jake Peterson, Logan Sheets, Zach Wolf, Eric Cole, Dalton Goodwin, Adam Speck, Tanner Borchardt, Garett James, Dalton Sylvan, Tyler Baker, Dylan Folkers, Pete Peterson, Jake Matthies, Roy Slack, Logan Koehler, Trenton Long, Chase Ostergard

Boys Basketball

Mr. Hustle—Logan Sheets

All-Around—Logan Koehler

Most Improved—Roy Slack

Best Teammate—Aaron Collins & Blake Ristine

SWC 1st Team—Logan Koehler

SWC 2nd Team—Tanner Borchardt

LJS Academic All State—Logan Sheets & Blake Ristine

LJS/AP/OWH Honorable Mention All State—Logan Koehler, Tanner Borchardt

North Platte Telegraph All Area 1st Team—Logan Koehler

North Platte Telegraph All Area Honorable Mention—Tanner Borchardt

NSAA Academic All State (Nominations)—Blake Ristine & Logan Sheets

Letter Winners—Aaron Collins, Logan Koehler, Jake Matthies, Logan Sheets, Nate Graham, Ross Ostendorf, Blake Ristine, Roy Slack, Tanner Borchardt, Jacob Clark, Conner Schwanz, Chase Ostergard

Girls Basketball

MVP—Brittyn Munster

Lady Swede Hustle Award—Regan Geiken

Most Improved—Aryn Meisinger

Most Supportive Teammate—Taylor Wolf

SWC 1st Team--Brittyn Munster

SWC 2nd Team--Regan Geiken

SWC 3rd Team--Jacey Wiggins

LJS/AP/OWH Honorable Mention All State—Brittyn Munster & Regan Geiken

Letter Winners—Brittyn Munster, Rebecca Anderson, Aryn Meisinger, Taylor Mroczek, Amanda Kowalewski, MaKaela Franzen, Regan Geiken, Jacey Wiggins, Kyndal Holmes, Taylor Wolf, Emily Franzen


Most Valuable Wrestler—Dalton Goodwin

Thor Award—Tyson Miller

Senior of the Year—Dillon Larson

Junior of the Year—Skyler Kottwitz

Sophomore of the Year—Seth Eggleston

Freshman of the Year—Jayden Miller

Most Improved—Tyler Alvarez

JV Wrestler of the Year Award—Dalton Sylvan

Courage Award—Chad Schmiett

Welcome Back Award—Preston Franzen

Newcomer of the Year Award—Dade Brock

Coaches Awards—Talbot Buchholz and Tyler Miller

Letter Winners—Dade Brock, Brandon Stevens, Seth Portiner, Hayden Hubbard, Tyler Miller, Chad Schmeitt, Jayden Miller, Tyler Alvarez, Seth Eggleston, Dalton Sylvan, Keyan Anderson, Tyson Miller, Skyler Kottwitz, Talbot Buchholz, Dalton Goodwin, Dillon Larson, Preston Franzen, Shelby Mannel

Track & Field

MVP—Preston Franzen & Tiani Reeves

Most Improved—Roy Slack & Taylor Mroczek

Chris Metzger Award—Tanner Borchardt & Emily Franzen

Outstanding Performance Award—Blake Ristine & Regan Geiken

Rookie of the Year—Keely Lecher

Letter Winners (boys)—Eric Cole, Aaron Collins, Preston Franzen, Logan Koehler, Logan Sheets, Alex Spencer, Skylar Kottwitz, Ross Ostendorf, Blake Ristine, Roy Slack, Tanner Borchardt, Jacob Clark, Seth Eggleston, Dylan Folkers, Jacob Franzen, Connor Schwanz, Zach Wolf, Matt Bruntz

Letter Winners (girls)—Kenzie Hiebner, Siera Schwanz, Taylor Wolf, Emily Franzen, Regan Geiken, Kyndal Holmes, Shelby Mannel, Abbie Mazour, Aryn Meisinger, Taylor Mroczek, Haley Cline, Ashley Eskew, MaKaela Franzen, McKinley Harm, Amanda Kowalewski, Tiani Reeves, Lauren Andres, Kylee Beyea, Sydney Gruber, Keely Lecher, Jennifer Maline, Destiny McVay

Boys Golf

MVP—Adam Speck

Most Improved—Jacob Matthies

Best Teammate—Cody Cooper

Letter Winners—Jake Matthies, Cody Cooper, Adam Speck, Nathan Graham, Brett Mann, Trenton Long, Drake Brand, Patrick Messersmith