Monday, June 25, 2018
Text Size

Safety board approves levy authority

Railroad Transportation Safety District board meets

For now, members of the Railroad Transportation Safety District board meet twice a year.

But once construction of an east viaduct in Lexington gets rolling, they’ll meet more, according to city clerk Karla Zlatkovsky.

The board, formed about three years ago to provide funding for safety-related railroad projects in Dawson County, met June 19 in Lexington.

There, the six-member board approved a resolution that gives the RTSD authority to levy three quarters of a cent on each $100 of taxable property in Dawson County.

Before that vote, a motion for the authority to levy one cent on each $100 of taxable property in Dawson County failed.

Currently, Zlatkovsky said railroad projects are funded half by the City of Lexington and half by the county.

She said Gothenburg tried to get a railroad project going at one time but was unsuccessful, she said.

In other action, the board approved a $300,000 claim for an engineering plan for the new viaduct in Lexington which leaves a balance of $175,802.

During election of new officers, the board re-elected current officers.

Bill Stewart will continue to serve as president and John Salem as vice president.

In other business, board members discussed the 2014 budget but took no action.

The board will meet again in September to approve the budget.

Members of the RTSD are all from Lexington and besides Steward and Salem include Linda Miller, Jeremy Roberts and Dawson County commissioners Everett “Butch” Hagan and Dennis Rickertsen.

The RTSD is a political subdivision created by Nebraska legislators in 1971 because of a high rate of fatalities in train-to-vehicle/pedestrian collisions.

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it