Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Text Size

Running together for success

Cross country is an interesting sport. An individual can compete for themselves all the while running for the team. That is something that head coach Steve Reeves recognizes.

He said this year overall individual improvement is the focus because that will lead to better team results.

Both Swede teams will face quality competition within the conference this year, Reeves said, before heading into the three most important meets— conference, district and eventually state.

“On the boys side of conference, Cozad might be the best team in the state,” Reeves said. After them, Minden and Ainsworth always put together a quality team.

Conference will be tough due to inexperience and youth, Reeves said.

“We’re a young team and will rely a great deal on Seth Eggleston to be a leader for us,” Reeves said. “We have a lot of young kids that need to step up and fill varsity roles.”

On the girls side, the conference remains tough with Cozad finishing runner-up at state last year and Ogallala and Ainsworth being quality teams, Reeves said.

Gothenburg returns a lot of experience and adds talented newcomers that will help the team, he said.

“We have good senior leadership from Abbie Mazour and Betsy Potter,” Reeves said. “I can see five or six girls running together and anyone of them being the lead runner.”

He said both teams need to have good work ethic, but have fun too. If they do that, things should progress as planned.

The cross country season opens Sept. 6 at 4:00 p.m. with the Cozad Invite,

This is the first meet where the girls and boys teams will both run 5K in competition.

Members of the 2013 boys and girls cross country teams are (*denotes returning letter winners) :

Seniors—Rhett Lindholm, Abbie Mazour* and Betsy Potter*.

Juniors—Alayna Collins, Seth Eggleston*, Jacob Franzen, Holly Hudson, Amanda Kowalewski* and Sam Lafuze.

Sophomores—Dylan France*, Sydney Gruber, Bryce Kowaleski*, Jennifer Maline*, Mathiel Martinez and Destiny McVay*.

Freshman—Tate Bartlett, Hannah Boyd, Josh Elliot, Andie Geiken, Collin Hahn, Bryan Martinez and Jaci Teahon.

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it