Saturday, June 23, 2018
Text Size

Candidates starting to file for public office

Election deadlines draw nearer

Feb. 18 is the magic date for incumbents to file for office while challengers must meet a March 3 deadline.

So far, filings have begun to trickle in.

City of Gothenburg

Two seats remain open on the Gothenburg City Council as well as the position of mayor.

No one has yet filed.

District 20 school board

Two incumbents—Nate Wyatt and Jon Hudson—have filed to retain their seats on the District 20 board.

Devin Brundage is running for one of the three seats open.

Scott France is also up for re-election this year.

Hospital board

Two seats are open on the Gothenburg Memorial Hospital board now occupied by board member Larry Gill and Ryan O’Hare.

No one has yet filed for either of the four-year terms.

Airport Authority

Incumbent Roger Tederman and new appointee Lori Hoesel have both indicated their desire to remain on the Gothenburg Airport Authority board.

Two seats are open on the board.

Dawson County offices

Several incumbents have filed for re-election to county offices.

They include county clerk Karla Zlatkovsky, sheriff Gary Reiber, treasurer Sharon Wood, surveyor Mark Streit and assessor John Moore.

With register of deeds Ruth Meyer retiring this year, two Lexington women—Dian Lauby and Debra Stuchlik,—have filed for the position.

Also retiring is clerk of the district court Sherry Warner.

Three are vying for the seat and include Becky Boryca of Cozad and Maria Reutlinger-Maravilla and Jackie Debban, both of Lexington.

The only county officeholder who has not yet filed for re-election is attorney Elizabeth Waterman.

Three have indicated their desire to continue serve as county commissioners—Bill Stewart, who represents District 2 and District 3 representative Dennis Rickertsen.

Two seats are also open on the county weed board.

County races are partisan and all who have filed are Republicans.

Nebraska Legislature

Matt Williams of Gothenburg has formally filed for the 36th District legislative seat occupied by State Sen. John Wightman.

Term limits will force Wightman out at the end of the year.