Monday, June 18, 2018
Text Size

Swedes see success in Mitchell

Wrestlers finish 5th out of 16 teams

With a dual win two days earlier, Gothenburg’s wrestlers went into the Mitchell Invite with confidence Saturday and earned a fifth-place finish.

“We knew with our success against Hershey we would do well at the Invite,” head coach Tom Scott said.

Every wrestler’s seed was based on his record this season and all the Gothenburg wrestlers finished better than their given seed.

Skyler Kottwitz at 170 pounds and Tyler Alvarez in the 126-pound bracket earned first place medals to lead the Swedes while Bryce Larson finished second at 106.

Wheatland won the invite with 140 team points. Gothenburg scored 82 points as a team.

Scott said the Swedes are practicing well right now and are building chemistry while getting better.

“The entire team is gelling right now,” Scott said. “There is a team chemistry going on that is awesome.”

At this point in the season, each wrestler getting a medal at state is still the goal, Scott said, and the conference meet can help get his wrestlers there.

“We have to get better this week,” he said. “There are some big district matches we need to win at conference.”

The Southwest Conference meet is in Gothenburg Friday at 4 p.m.

“Doing well at conference will set us to be successful at districts,” Scott said. “Our road block to the state meet is districts.”


106—Bryce Larson won unopposed; pinned Jack Fedderson (Sidney), 3:13; won 5-4 decision over Darryn Walters (Mitchell); lost 5-3 decision to Tucker Hicks (Hershey).

126—Tyler Alvarez pinned Hilaria Esparza-Garcia (Bayard), 1:02; won 15-8 major decision over Zachariah Sanabria (Mitchell); pinned Peyton Baumann (Bridgeport), 5:29.

132—Talbot Buchholz was pinned by Lane Hageman (Lingle Ft. Laramie), 3:49; lost 9-6 decision to Robert Niezwaag (Bayard).

138—Seth Portiner won unopposed; was pinned by Chayton Crow (Hershey), 2:50; won unopposed; was pinned by Cody Meuller (Mitchell), 2:07.

145—Jayden Miller pinned Malachi Belford (Bayard), 1:09; was pinned by Michael Muggli (Sidney), 3:08; pinned Josh Cincocco (Minatare), 1:47; pinned Rio McGinley (Garden County), 4:58; pinned Tyler Huddle (Hemingford), 3:37

152—Keyan Anderson won unopposed; was pinned by Todd Widener (Bridgeport), 2:34; won pinned by Ephraim Blanco (Mitchell), 1:30.

170—Skyler Kottwitz pinned Matthew Sorensen (Heminford), 0:58; won 12-0 major decision over Jerrod Fedorchik (Bridgeport); won 7-4 decision over Braydon Wiedeman (Mitchell).

182—Tyson Miller won unopposed; was pinned by Kirby Cagle (Wheatland), 5:02; pinned Brandon Lulf (Sidney), 1:25; pinned Jeramiah Wurm (Bayard), 0:42.

195—Tyler Miller lost 16-1 technical fall to Wyatt Sorensen (Southeast); was pinned by River Schroeder (Burns), 2:40.

220—Chad Schmiett was pinned by Damian Rutledge (Kimball), 1:02; won unopposed; was pinned by Colton Stees (Southeast), 0:46.

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it