Thursday, September 20, 2018
Text Size

Gothenburg boys have to compete as a single unit

Seniors with state experience and contributions from the team’s younger athletes combined with a good work ethic is what will push the Swedes.

The Gothenburg boys track team looks to continue a storied tradition, head coach Steve Reeves said.

“The big thing is we have some experienced seniors but we’re going to look for production from everyone we have,” he said.

A year ago Tanner Borchardt and Skyler Kottwitz earned medals at the state meet.

Kottwitz, now a senior, finished fifth in pole vault while Borchardt also earned a fifth-place finish in the shot as a sophomore.

Much like the girls team, Reeves believes his throwers have the ability to get Gothenburg some big points allowing the track athletes to add to them.

If we work hard and compete hard the outcomes will work themselves out, Reeves said.

The team will do the best it can with its 12 returning letter winners setting the stage.

Reeves thinks Cozad, with its athleticism and speed, is the team to beat in the Southwest Conference.

“Cozad has had a nice run of kids recently and they are having a good run of success in their teams this year,” Reeves said.

He noted Ogallala may have some speed back but he is unsure about what other teams may have available.

“We’re going to do what we can and represent Gothenburg well,” Reeves said.

The Gothenburg boys open the season on Friday at the University of Nebraska at Kearney Indoor Invite and continue indoors next week also at Kearney.

Members of the 2014 Swede boys track team are (*denotes letter winner):

SENIORS—Skyler Kottwitz*, Ross Ostendorf*, Blake Ristine*, Roy Slack*.

JUNIORS—Keyan Anderson, Tanner Borchardt*, Jacob Clark*, Seth Eggleston*, Dylan Folkers*, Jacob Franzen*, Archer Jensen, Jordan Lauer, Jake Peterson, Connor Schwanz*, Brennan Spencer, Levi Tripp, Zach Wolf*.

SOPHOMORES—Ethan Bihlmaier, Ziek Brian, Braeden Brundage, Matt Bruntz*, Dirk Earll, Marcus Fritton, Dylan France, Alex Jorgenson, Drake Langley, Mathiel Martinez, Jayden Miller, Ryan Rehbach, Caleb Rice, Roman Schmidt, Tyson Schwanz, Skyler Schwanz.

FRESHMEN—Ty Clement, Kaihden Dorsey, Joshua Elliott, Quinten Fair, Dawson Graham, Collin Hahn, Trevor Holley, Bryan Martinez, Myles Mendell, Patrick Peterson, Tyler Raasch, Julian Smith, Kenny Shuman, Stephan Wehtje.

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it