Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Text Size

Gothenburg man runs for sheriff’s seat

Challengers must file by March 1.

The race for Dawson County sheriff has turned into a three-man affair.

Ricky Hite of Gothenburg has announced his candidacy for the seat.

Hite challenges incumbent sheriff Gary Reiber of Lexington and Paul Schwarz of Cozad.

All candidates are Republicans.

Although the Feb. 16 deadline for incumbents to file for re-election has passed, challengers have until Monday, March 1.

Locally, that means District 20 school board member Pat Hecox will not run again.

Of the three school board seats open, incumbents Scott France and Nate Wyatt have filed as well as newcomer Jon Hudson.

Since last Tuesday, Charles Stryker of Eddyville has thrown his hat into the ring for a seat as Dawson County commissioner in District 3.

Stryker will face fellow Republican Bill Brecks of Lexington.

Current commissioner Roger Bauer of Overton will not run for re-election.


Gothenburg west ward council man Jeff Whiting and Tim Strauser, who represents east ward, have no challengers so far.

Nor does Mayor Joyce Hudson.

Gothenburg Memorial Hospital board incumbents Larry Gill and Brent Block will run for re-election.

Incumbent Craig Bartruff has also filed for the lone seat open on the Gothenburg Airport Authority.


The following county incumbents, who are also all Republican, have also filed.

Challengers are listed after the incumbent’s name.

Assessor—John Phillip Moore.

Attorney—Elizabeth Waterman

Clerk—Karla Zlatovsky

District court clerk—Sherry Warner

Register of deeds—Ruth Meyer

Surveyor—Jacob Ripp

County treasurer—Sharon Wood, Allison Luther

Incumbent and Republican Bill Stewart also seeks re-election to his District 2 commissioner seat.


District 36 state senator—John Wightman

The primary election is May 11 followed by the general election Nov. 2.