Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Text Size

County caucus

SANDERS WINS: A group of more than 125 Dawson County Democrats met in the Lexington Middle School Saturday afternoon to choose the party’s presidential nominee. Bernie Sanders received three of the four votes allocated to the county and Hillary Clinton got one. Sanders received 86 votes to Clinton’s 39, including absentee ballots. Scott Foster of Gothenburg was chosen as a Clinton delegate to the Nebraska Democratic Party convention. Ann Trullinger of Gothenburg (pictured right) moderated the caucus and was chosen as caucus chair. Nebraska will send 30 delegates to the Democratic National Convention this summer.