Sunday, September 23, 2018
Text Size

Horse show circuit recognizes top riders

An awards banquet to recognize the year-end 4-H winners from the inaugural season of the Greater Nebraska Horse Show Circuit was held recently in Kearney.

Participating 4-H members earned points in a variety of classes at seven summer shows. Keynote speaker for the evening was Lori Bortner of Harding, former 4-H horse club member and Miss Rodeo.

Overall champions of the various age divisions were determined by the points accumulated in nine horse show events. Overall winners were:

Division 1—champion Leah Treffer of Cozad; reserve champion Blaire Gibbens of Gothenburg.

Division 2—champion Haley Teter of Indianola; reserve champion Anneliess Feldner of Kearney.

Division 3—champion Cali Heins of Cozad; reserve champion Tasha Miller of Tryon.

Senior division winners were:

Lindsey Driggs (North Platte)—champion showmanship, reserve western pleasure, reserve western horsemanship, champion trail, champion reining, champion English equitation, reserve English oleasure, and champion overall winner.

Tasha Miller (Tryon)—reserve showmanship, champion western horsemanship, reserve trail, reserve poles, reserve barrels, and reserve overall winner.

Cassie McNeil (Stapleton)—champion western pleasure and champion English pleasure.

Amanda Shields (McCook)—reserve reining.

Krista Quint (Benkelman)—champion poles and champion barrels.

Renee Otero (Overton)—reserve English equitation.

Intermediate Division winners were:

Amanda Larson (Cozad)—champion showmanship and reserve English pleasure.

Haley Teter (Bartley)—reserve showmanship, reserve western horsemanship, reserve trail, champion reining, champion poles, champion barrels, champion English equitation, and champion overall winner.

Miranda Lauby (Cozad)—champion western pleasure and champion English pleasure.

Anneliess Feldner (Kear-ney)—reserve western pleasure, champion western horsemanship, reserve English equitation, and reserve overall winner.

Shelby Engles (Kearney)—champion trail and reserve reining.

Kelsey Kilpatrick (McCook)—reserve poles.

Colton Lashley (McCook)—reserve barrels.

Junior Division winners were:

Leah Treffer (Cozad)—champion showmanship, champion western pleasure, champion western horsemanship, champion trail, champion reining, champion English equitation, champion English pleasure and champion overall winner.

Emily Keiser (Gothenburg)—reserve showmanship, reserve western horsemanship, and reserve trail.

Blaire Gibbens (Gothen-burg)—reserve western pleasure, champion poles, champion barrels, reserve English equitation, reserve English pleasure, and reserve overall winner..

Colby Duvel (Max)—reserve reining.

Tigh Renken (Bertrand)—reserve poles and reserve barrels.

Trail Boss sponsors for the banquet were Ariat, Wrangler, Dottie Bowman of Kearney, and Lincoln County 4-H.

A number of other area businesses, individuals and organizations also provided support and prizes.