Friday, June 22, 2018
Text Size

Two Swedes take top place

Costello, Kowalewski win gold at Lex speech invite.

Two Swedes joined speech competitors from other towns in the winner’s circle at the Lexington Speech Invite Saturday.

Maddy Costello took first in informative speaking as did Morgan Kowalewski in extemporaneous speaking.

Speech team adviser Dan Jensen said he felt the results were encouraging.

“We made some improvements from our performances at the Cozad meet,” Jensen said about the first meet of the season on Dec. 17. “Although we are not where we want to be yet, the judges seemed receptive to our material.”

Another positive, he said, is that the team seems to have students in the right events.

In addition to Gothenburg, schools at the meet were Arapahoe, North Platte, Elm Creek, Lexington, Broken Bow, Cozad, Centura, Franklin and Eustis-Farnam.

Novices competed with varsity competitors at the Lexington Invite.

On Saturday, the team travels to Grand Island for the first of two Central Nebraska Forensic League contests.

Jensen said it will be a much larger meet (33 schools registered) than what the team has competed in so far.

“It will be a good challenge for us,” he said.

Other results are as follows:

Extemporaneous speaking—3. Carson Messersmith, 5. Kayla Trevino, 6. Carlin Daharsh; superior ribbons, Jon Rehmert, Betsy Potter, Abbie Mazour, Shelby Loostrom.

Persuasive speaking—2. Maddy Costello, 4. Jon Rehmert.

Informative speaking—2. Carlin Daharsh.

Humorous prose—Superior ribbon, Abbie Mazour.

Serious prose—3. Jeramie VanAcker, 4. Ashley Wilkerson, 5. Mackenzie Brand; superior ribbon, Betsy Potter.

Poetry—Superior ribbon, Kennedy Wahlgren.

Duet acting—3. Josh Clark and Cale Moore, 5. Kayla Trevino and Carlie Stevens; superior ribbons, Morgan Kowalewski and Bailey Gibbens and Jon Rehmert and Jacob Boehle.

Oral interpretation of drama—Superior ribbon, Carlie Stevens, Alyssa Salem, Morgan Kowalewski, Amanda Larson and Mackenzie Brand.

Also competing were Kristin Bartlett, Hailey Maline, Cody Cooper, Rebecca Miller, Kyle Maline, Haley Cline, Beth Whitney, Jessica Stevens, Paula Cardenas, Alexis Brian, Archer Jensen, Dillon Gartner, Mallory McCoy, Danielle Schriver and Rhett Lindholm.