Sunday, June 17, 2018
Text Size

Local officeholders don’t re-file

Challengers face March 1 deadline

Two local office holders are taking a pass on the next election.

For incumbents, the filing door closed Feb. 15. Challengers have until Thursday, March 1 to indicate their desire to run for office.

Presidential Republican contenders fight for their party’s nomination while county and city election hopefuls are quietly making their intentions known.

So far, this is how the local and county races are shaping up.

Two of four seats are open on Gothenburg City Council.

West ward councilman Jeff Kennedy is running for re-election while east-ward representative Gary Fritch is not.

Duane Oliver has filed for the seat, now occupied by Fritch, who was appointed a year ago to fill the position vacated by former councilman Jim Aden.

Terms are for four years.

Three seats are open on the board and incumbents Amber Burge and Lisa Geiken have indicated their desire to serve for another four-year term.

Newcomer Jeremy Sitorius has filed for election. The name of long-time board member Bruce Clark will not appear on the ballot.

Three seats on the Gothenburg Memorial Hospital board must be re-filled during this election year.

Incumbents Monty Bowman, Mike Bacon and Carol Shackleton-Skinner have all filed for re-election for another four years.

The May 15 primary is when hospital board candidates are elected.

Two seats are open on the Gothenburg Airport Authority board.

Board member Dave Collins, who is serving the last two years of a six-year term, has filed.

Incumbent Kent Kline has filed for re-election while the name of challenger Ken Christensen will also appear on the ballot.

The names of Airport Authority election hopefuls will appear on the general ballot (Nov. 6) which means filing deadlines are extended.

Incumbents have until July 16 to file and challengers by Aug. 1.

Three incumbent commissioners, who are all Republicans, are running for re-election for four-year terms.

County commissioner Dean Kugler of Gothenburg, who represents District 1, has filed as has District 4 representative P.J. Jacobsen of Cozad.

Butch Hagan of Lexington, who represents District 5, also seeks re-election.

Election to county offices are partisan while local races are not.

Seats for county office holders are up for re-election in 2014.

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it