Monday, April 23, 2018
Text Size

Swedes continue winning ways at GINW speech meet

For the fifth time since the Swedes have competed at the Grand Island Northwest Speech Invite, they have won the sweepstakes award by accumulating the most points.

The team won the meet in 2006, 2007, 2008 and again last year when they returned to the Grand Island event after competing in Loup City in 2009 and 2010.

GICC was second at Saturday’s meet and North Platte finished third.

Cale Moore captured the crown in extemporaneous speaking as did Josh Clark in humorous prose.

Clark also teamed up with Jeramie VanAcker for a first-place finish in improvised duet.

And VanAcker partnered with Makayla Franzen to win the duet acting event.

In the novice division, Amanda Kowalewski won in informative speaking.

“I was pleased with the results,” Jensen said. “Our students continue to show improvement and they showed up with a competitive spirit.”

Jensen said he always worries about maintaining a competitive edge after a win like the team experienced in North Platte two weeks ago.

There, the Swedes easily won a two-day debate and speech contest.

Jensen said the novices performed well at GINW but the team lacked the numbers to score as a team compared to last year when Swede novices won the sweepstakes award.

In preparation for the Southwest Conference and district meets, the varsity team will be cut in half, he said, as only two entries per event are allowed.

Varsity members will compete in the Best of the West meet in North Platte on March 3 with the pared-down team competing at SWC in Valentine on March 6.

There were no superior ribbons awarded in the GINW meet.

Other medalists included:

Extemporaneous speaking—Varsity: 2. Carson Messersmith, 5. Morgan Kowalewski, 6. Abbie Mazour; Novice: 5. Haley Maline.

Persuasive speaking—Varsity: 2. Jon Rehmert, 4. Amanda Kowalewski, 5. Kelsey Kuhlman, 6. Alayna Collins.

Informative speaking—Varsity: 3. Madison Costello, 4. Cody Cooper.

Entertainment speaking—Varsity: 2. Ryan Ostendorf.

Serious prose—Varsity: 2. Jeramie VanAcker.

Poetry—Varsity: 4. Madison Costello, 5. Mackenzie Brand.

Duet acting—Varsity: 2. Betsy Potter and Abbie Mazour.

Improvised duet—4.Madison Costello and Kennedy Wahlgren.

Oral interpretation of drama—Varsity: 5. Ryan Ostendorf, Rachel Rice, Kelsey Kuhlman, Carson Messersmith and Cody Cooper.

Also competing were Shelby Loostrom, Haley Cline, Mallory McCoy, Kayla Trevino, Kristin Bartlett, Rebecca Miller, Drake Brand, Brett Mann, Carlie Stevens, Ashley Wilkerson, Alyssa Salem, Kaylee Beyea and Leah Loostrom.

Weather Forecast

Click for Gothenburg, Nebraska Forecast

e-Subscription Login