Saturday, May 26, 2018
Text Size

FFA’ers recognized at annual banquet

Gothenburg’s FFA organization recognized the accomplishments of members throughout the year at its annual banquet last Thursday in the school’s performing arts center.

GHS graduates and former members Andy Jobman and Helen Cool spoke about an FFA alumni group they have formed.

Both Jobman and Cool have served as mentors to FFA members but said more help is needed, whether it’s in the form of time or monetary support.

Receiving appreciation awards for their support and involvement in FFA were Jobman, Kyle and Jerri Beyea and Steve and Becky Costello.

The star chapter farmer was Kerry McPheeters while the star agribusiness recipient was Peyton Maline. Rebecca Anderson received the workhorse award and Hailey Maline was honored as the star greenhand.

Earning state FFA degrees were Kerry McPheeters, Cale Moore, Jamie Messersmith, and Peyton Maline.

Salesperson of the year was Jamie Messersmith.

Officers were also named for the 2011-12 school year. They are Morgan Kowalewski, president; Madison Costello, vice president; Kelsey Kuhlman, treasurer; Amanda Larson, secretary; Courtney Brown, sentinel; Tyler Block, sod treasurer; Carson Messersmith, corresponding secretary; and Rebecca Anderson, technical reporter.

In addition, members who placed at state during the annual convention in Lincoln earlier in April were recognized.

They were:

Proficiency awards:

Gold—Kaylee Beyea, diversified horticulture entrepreneurship; and Kerry McPheeters, grain production.

Silver—Morgan Kowalewski, veterinary science-entrepreneurship, Amanda Larson, equine science-entrepreneurship; Madison Costello, sheep production-entrepreneurship; Tyler Block, vegetable production-entrepreneurship; Shay Wear, diversified agriculture production-entrepreneurship.

Bronze—Preston Franzen, diversified agriculture production-entrepreneurship; Bailey Gibbens, sheep production entrepreneurship; Logan Sheets, diversified crop production.

Junior public speaking—1. Rebecca Anderson.

Extemporaneous speaking—2. Carson Messersmith.

Meats evaluation—6. Individually, Amanda Larson; 5. Team: Amanda Larson, Amanda Kowalewski, Morgan Kowalewski, Jake Peterson, Blake Ristine.

Ag sales team—Team: Peyton Maline, Hailey Maline, Kelsey Kuhlman, Jessica Schmidt, red.

Senior parliamentary team—Peyton Maline, Kerry McPheeters, Jordan Ivey, Morgan Kowalewski, Amanda Larson, Kaylee Beyea, silver.

Junior parliamentary team—Jessica Schmidt, Carson Messersmith, Blake Ristine, Rebecca Anderson, Courtney Brown, Kelsey Kuhlman, Abbie Mazour, Pete Peterson, gold.

Junior parliamentary team—Hailey Maline, Amanda Kowalewski, Bailey Aden, Ashley Eskew, Ross Ostendorf, Shaylee Scott, MaKaela Franzen, McKinley Harm, silver.

Agronomy team—Archer Jensen, Jake Peterson, Amanda Kowalewski, Levi Tripp, red.

Farm management team—Kyle Johnson, Preston Franzen, Shay Wear, Gage Leviner, blue.

Food science team—Bailey Rickertsen, Bailey Gibbens, Tyler Block, Curtis Andres, blue.

Junior livestock evaluation—Abbie Mazour, Tanner Borchardt, Courtney Brown, Blake Ristine, purple.

Junior high quiz bowl—2. Herschel Foster, Patrick Messersmith, Emily Keiser, Caleb Rice; 3. Destiny McVay, Hayden Hubbard, Olivia LaFleur, Tyler Miller.

Weather Forecast

Click for Gothenburg, Nebraska Forecast

e-Subscription Login