Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Text Size

Incumbents return to GMH board

Local voters decided to stay with the known in the May primary when they re-elected Mike Bacon, Dr. Carol Shackleton-Skinner and Monty Bowman to the Gothenburg Memorial Hospital board.

The three, in addition to challengers Dr. Jay Matzke, Stan Roethemeyer and Richard Tracci, were on the ballot in district which spans four counties.

Hospital board terms are for four years.

During the May 14 election, Dawson County election coordinator Sheri Bellamy said about 21% of the county electorate turned out to vote.

Two years ago, the percentage was 28%.

Throughout Nebraska, nearly 26% of registered voters cast ballots in the primary.

Preliminary figures show 24 counties with turnout figures 35% or higher.

Boone County had the highest turnout out rate at 59.8%, according to the Secretary of State’s office.

Bellamy said she thinks voting will pick up during the Nov. 6 general election when voters will decide who they want for president, as well as more state, county and local races.

Voting went smoothly last week, she said.

Official Gothenburg and Dawson County results are as follow:

2012 Primary Election


Dawson County

Registered voters 13,352

Ballots cast 2,818

Voter turnout 21.11%

Republican ballots cast 2,290

Democratic ballots cast 457

Libertarian ballots cast 4

Nonpartisan ballots cast 67

Gothenburg East Ward

Registered voters 1,282

Ballots cast 284

Voter turnout 22.15%

Republican ballots cast 223

Democratic ballots cast 48

Libertarian ballots cast 0

Nonpartisan ballots cast 13

Gothenburg West Ward

Registered voters 1,232

Ballots cast 247

Voter turnout 20.05%

Republican ballots cast 182

Democratic ballots cast 54

Libertarian ballots cast 0

Nonpartisan ballots cast 11


Votes %


Newt Gingrich 1416.16

Ron Paul 1878.17

Mitt Romney 1,49165.11

Rick Santorum 36215.81


Spencer Zimmerman 12.52

Don Stenberg 37816.38

Jon Bruning 64427.92

Deb Fischer 1,17050.72

Pat Flynn 441.91

Sharyn Elander 15.65

3rd Congressional Dist.

Adrian Smith 1,96785.23

Bob Lingenfelter 25411.01


Co. Commissioner Dist. 1

E. Dean Kugler 48685.71

Co. Commissioner Dist. 4

PJ Jacobson 41085.06

Co. Commissioner Dist. 5

Butch Hagan 15952.65

John Knapple 14146.69



Barack Obama 30466.52


Larry Marvin 173.64

Steven P. Lustgarten 81.71

Sherman Yates 204.28

Chuck Hassebrook 6413.70

Bob Kerrey 31667.67

3rd Congressional Dist.

Mark Sullivan 33672.10



Roger Gary 125.00

Bill Still 125.00



Hospital District 3

(3 elected, total includes Lincoln Co.)

Carol Shackleton-Skinner 397

Monty L. Bowman 477

Michael L. Bacon 392

Jay Matzke 203

Stan Roethemeyer 274

Richard Tracci 220

Tri-County Hospital Board

(3 elected)

Kerry Teetor 89720.31

Kathy Neil 96221.78

Rob Anderson 94021.29

Cozad Community Hospital Board

(2 elected)

Matt Burkholder 51638.97

Marilyn Peterson 42732.25

Weather Forecast

Click for Gothenburg, Nebraska Forecast

e-Subscription Login