Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Text Size

Village chairman not running for re-election

The deadline for incumbents to file for re-election to school and village board seats in Lincoln County passed Monday without the Brady village board chairman throwing in his name.

Jeff Miller, who was elected to the village board in November 2008, first moved into the board chairman position to fill a brief vacancy in January 2011.

He was nominated by the board to be the village chairman again in July 2011 to fill a vacancy left by resignation and has remained in the position since.

Miller’s term will end in December.

Fellow incumbents Todd Roe and Lynn Herrick have completed the filing process with the county clerk for re-election.

Both Roe and Herrick were appointed to the board to fill vacancies left by resignations in March 2011.

In addition to the incumbents, Rodrick Brown, 107 E. River Street, has filed for a village board position.

All three open seats are four-year terms.

A similar situation has occurred for the Brady school board.

Two of three incumbents have filed for re-election but longtime school board member Harry Haythorn has not.

Haythorn, a rancher west of Brady, has served multiple terms on the board and is often looked to for historical perspective.

Marge Spencer and T.J. Walker have filed the necessary paperwork to be on the November ballot.

Both were elected during the 2008 general election, with Walker serving slightly longer after having filled a vacancy earlier in the year.

All three open seats on the village board are four-year terms.

The deadline for challengers to file for either the village board or the school board is 5 p.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 1.

Voters will cast ballots in general election on Nov. 6.