Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Text Size

Two file as official write-in candidates

Although their names won’t be printed on the ballot for the general election in November, two Brady residents have filed official affidavits as write-in candidates for the village board.

Trustee chairman Jeff Miller, who had previously decided he would not seek re-election, has filed the necessary paperwork with the Lincoln County clerk’s office to be considered a declared write-in.

County clerk Becky Rossell said that means as long as Miller’s name, even simply last name, is written on the line of the ballot under village trustees, he can retain his seat on the board if he earns one of the top three vote counts in the election.

Jerry L. Riewe, who lives at 317 N. Main, has also filed as a declared write-in for the village board.

Riewe and Rodrick Brown are new challengers for the three open seats for four-year terms on the board.

In addition to Miller, incumbents are Todd Roe and Lynn Herrick.

Roe and Herrick were both appointed to the board in March 2011 to fill vacancies filed by mid-term resignations.

On the ballot in the school board race, four will vie for three four-year terms.

Incumbents Marge Spencer and T.J. Walker have filed for re-election.

Both were elected during the 2008 general election, with Walker serving slightly longer after having filled a vacancy earlier in the year.

Longtime school board member Harry Haythorn has chosen not to run again.

Official challengers on the school board ticket will be Ryan Stearns, 21847 S. Scott Road, and Bryan Franzen, 302 W. Popleton.

Residents still considering running for either the school board or village board have until Oct. 26 to file a notarized affidavit with the county clerk as official write-in candidates.

The general election is set for Nov. 6 with the Brady polling site at the Community Center. Polls open at 8 a.m.

Weather Forecast

Click for Gothenburg, Nebraska Forecast

e-Subscription Login