Friday, September 21, 2018
Text Size

Swedes bring home five golds from GI

Twenty-six schools compete at CNFL tourney

The Gothenburg High School speech team competed against students from 25 other schools Saturday.

And when the dust cleared, five stood in the winner’s circle with 48 others also earning medals.

The juniors ruled with Carlin Daharsh scoring a first in varsity informative speaking and Abbie Mazour taking gold in humorous prose.

Betsy Potter earned the top spot in serious prose.

In novice competition (those competing in speech for the first time), the freshmen dominated the placings.

Dylan France captured gold in entertainment speaking and Roman Schmidt was tops in humorous speaking.

Speech team adviser Dan Jensen said he was happy with where the Swedes placed at the first of two Central Nebraska Forensic meets.

“This event had some very good competition,” Jensen said.

He said he was pleased with where individuals placed considering the earliness of the season.

“So we can still see a lot of room for improvement yet over the next several weeks,” Jensen said.

Still, he said the Swedes will have to step it up if they want to be competitive toward the end of the season.

This Saturday, the team will compete at the Broken Bow Speech Invite.

Besides Gothenburg, schools competing at Saturday’s meet included Minden, Grand Island Central Catholic, Fillmore Central, Lexington, Nebraska Christian, Greeley-Wolbach, North Platte, Sutton, Cozad, Aurora, Alma, Doniphan Trumbull, Grand Island Senior High, Boone Central, York, Hampton, Adams Central, Grand Island Northwest, Arapahoe, Loup City, High Plains, Axtell, Holdrege, Sandy Creek and Broken Bow.

Other Swede individual medalists included:

Extemporaneous speaking—Varsity: 5. Abbie Mazour, 6. Jacob Boehle, 7. Ashley Wilkerson , 8. Kayla Trevino, 10. Jon Rehmert, 13. Carlin Daharsh; superior ribbon, Kristin Bartlett.

Novice—2. Roman Schmidt; superior ribbon, Kylee Beyea.

Persuasive speaking—Varsity: 2. Jon Rehmert, 4. Madison Costello, 6. Alayna Collins; 9. Kelsey Kuhlman; superior ribbon, Rebecca Miller.

Informative speaking—Varsity: 2. Madison Costello, 6. Rachel Rice, 7. Kennedy Wahlgren, 12. Kayla Trevino; superior ribbon, Jessica Schmidt.

Entertainment speaking—Varsity: 6. Amanda Kowalewski; superior ribbon, Kelsey Kuhlman.

Novice: 2. Rebecca Riley, 10. Talina Ramsey.

Humorous prose—Varsity: 4. Carlie Stevens, 9. Drake Brand, 12. Jon Rehmert, 15. Brett Mann; superior ribbon, Jacob Boehle.

Novice: 3. Dylan France; superior ribbon, Drake Langley.

Serious prose—Varsity: 6. Rachel Rice, 7. Kennedy Wahlgren, 12. Ashley Wilkerson; superior ribbon, Abbie Mazour and Bailey Gibbens.

Poetry—Varsity: 5. Madison Costello, 10. Carlin Daharsh, 11. Morgan Kowalewski; superior ribbon, Alexis Brian.

Duet acting—Varsity: 5. Amanda Larson and Morgan Kowalewski, 7. Kayla Trevino and Carlie Stevens, 14. Drake Brand and Brett Mann, 15. Alayna Collins and Amanda Kowalewski.

Novice: 6. Jett Seimer and Joseph Darling.

Oral interpretation of drama—Varsity: 3. Morgan Kowalewski, Carlie Stevens, Alayna Collins, Amanda Larson and Brett Mann; superior ribbon, Ashley Wilkerson, Rachel Rice, Rebecca Miller and Kennedy Wahlgren.

Also competing were Paula Cardenas and Courtney Melvin.