Monday, June 18, 2018
Text Size

Swede athletes honored with SWC awards

Fourteen Gothenburg athletes have been honored by Southwest Conference coaches for their performance during the fall season in volleyball, golf, cross country and softball.

Volleyball selections to the all-conference teams were voted on by coaches.

Senior Emily Max makes a return appearance on the volleyball all-conference first team. The middle hitter was selected to the first team as a junior and made second-team all-conference as a sophomore.

Junior Ali Clark, who plays libero for the Swedes, made the SWC second team.

Ogallala had the most players honored with seven while Minden had four, Valentine and Ainsworth each three and Cozad and Broken Bow two apiece.

This is the second year the conference has recognized participants in golf and cross country.

Those athletes’ positions on the all-conference teams were determined by their finish at the Southwest Conference meets.

Three golfers earned recognition. Sidney Thompson and Liz Graham made the all-conference second team while Jourdan Matthies got on the third team.

Ogallala had five golfers on all-conference teams while Minden finished with four.

In cross country, four Gothenburg boys finished in the top 15 at the SWC meet to earn all-conference recognition.

Senior Andrew Collins, junior Luke Rehmert and sophomores Brett Dockweiler and Bryce Eggleston takes a spot on the all-conference team.

Ogallala matched Gothenburg’s number with four boys on the all-conference team. Broken Bow finished with three.

No Swede girls finished in the top 15 at the conference meet. Broken Bow had six girls make all-conference with Minden and Ainsworth each qualifying three.

Five Swede softball players earned all-conference honors. Bre Messersmith, Vanessa Linegar, Shelby Eggleston, Roni Putnam and KaTrina Winter were recognized.

Cozad had four softball nominees while Minden earned one. There are only three Southwest Conference schools with softball teams.

In all, Ogallala earned the most overall all-conference selections with 17. Gothenburg followed with 14, Minden at 12 and Broken Bow 11. Ainsworth finished with nine all-conference spots while Valentine earned eight total spots and Cozad had seven.