Monday, June 18, 2018
Text Size

Filings for 2014 election trickle in

Filing deadlines loom in February, March

The clock is ticking for office holders and wannabes.

Feb. 18 is the deadline for incumbents to file and challengers must meet a March 3 deadline.

The primary election is May 13 followed by the general election Nov. 4.

City of Gothenburg

Two seats are open on the Gothenburg City Council as well as the position of mayor.

As of Tuesday, city clerk Connie Dalrymple said no one has filed for the seats occupied by Mayor Joyce Hudson, east-ward representative Tim Strauser and Jeff Whiting who represents west ward.

The positions are four-year terms.

District 20 school board

Four-year positions open on the District 20 school board are now occupied by incumbents Nate Wyatt, Jon Hudson and Scott France.

No one has filed for re-election or election to those seats.

Hospital board

Two seats are open on the Gothenburg Memorial Hospital board now occupied by board member Larry Gill and Ryan O’Hare.

O’Hare replaced board member Brent Block a few months ago.

No one has yet filed for either of the four-year terms.

Airport Authority

Two seats are open on Gothenburg’s Airport Authority board.

Board members Roger Tederman and Lori Hoesel must file if they wish to retain their seats.

Lori Hoesel recently took the place of board member Kent Kline who resigned.

The five members of the board serve six-year terms.

Dawson County offices

A handful of incumbents have filed for re-election to office, according to county clerk/election commissioner Karla Zlatkovsky.

Terms are for four years.

Those who have filed for re-election to a county office include Zlatkovsky, sheriff Gary Reiber, treasurer Sharon Wood and surveyor Mark Streit.

Register of deeds Ruth Meyer will retire this year and a Lexington woman, Dian Lauby, has filed for the position.

Also retiring is clerk of the district court Sherry Warner.

So far, three women have filed for the seat—Becky Boryca of Cozad and Maria Reutlinger-Maravilla and Jackie Rowan, both of Lexington.

Other county seats open in 2014 include the assessor, which is occupied by John Moore, and attorney which is occupied by Elizabeth Waterman.

Three have indicated their desire to continue to serve as county commissioners—Bill Stewart, who represents District 2 and District 3 representative Dennis Rickertsen.

Two seats are also open on the county weed board.

County races are partisan and all who have filed are Republicans, Zlatkovsky said.