Friday, April 20, 2018
Text Size

Promising results revealed at Lex Speech Invite

Two Swede speech competitors double winners in events

Carlin Daharsh and Dylan France doubled their feelings of achievement at the Lexington Speech Invite Saturday when both received golds in two events.

Daharsh was judged first in poetry and shared the winner’s circle for serious prose with Betsy Potter when the teammates tied for first.

France earned gold in both humorous and entertainment speaking.

The meet was the first of the season for the Swedes who usually compete at the Cozad Invite before the holidays but didn’t in December.

Speech team coach Dan Jensen said he was encouraged with the overall team results in a contest that attracted 13 teams including Gothenburg.

“We have some varsity kids who are very well prepared and know what it takes to win,” Jensen said. “And even with the events that weren’t as well prepared, we got encouraging remarks from judges that indicate that we are on the right track with material that has potential.”

Jensen said his goal for the Lexington meet was to see how judges received the material students chose for their speeches and duet acting.

“We have a pretty good idea what is going to be competitive, but never know for sure until we start to get feedback in a contest,” he explained.

Besides Gothenburg, schools at the meet included North Platte, Kearney, Lexington, Franklin, Cozad, Arapahoe, Broken Bow, Northwest, Brady, Holdrege, Ord and Eustis-Farnam.

There was no overall winner declared at the meet.

The team is preparing this week for the first of two Central Nebraska Forensic League tournaments in Grand Island on Saturday.

“We have quite a bit of polishing to do on our existing events and are still in the very early stages of preparation for others,” he said.

Varsity team members and novices (first-year speech competitors) competed against each other at the Lexington meet.

Other individual results are as follows:

Extemporaneous speaking—2. Kayla Trevino, 5. Faith Rickertsen; superior ribbons, Abbie Mazour, Julyssa Rocha, Alex Meyer, Roman Schmidt and Ashley Wilkerson.

Persuasive speaking—2. Carlin Daharsh, 3. Alayna Collins, 4. Sara Picci; superior ribbon, Ebony Anderson.

Informative speaking—2. Kelsey Kuhlman, 5. Kylee Beyea

Entertainment speaking—1. Dylan France, 2. Alayna Collins; superior ribbons, Rachel Rice and Dominic Long.

Humorous prose—3. Abbie Mazour, 5. Brett Mann; superior ribbons, Roman Schmidt, Rebecca Riley, Georgina Dishman and Drake Langley.

Serious prose—1. (tie) Carlin Daharsh and Betsy Potter, 5. Ashley Wilkerson, Abbie Mazour; superior ribbon, Kennedy Wahlgren.

Poetry—1. Carlin Daharsh, 2. Roman Schmidt.

Duet acting—2. Jett Seimer and Joseph Darling; 5. Kylee Beyea and Rebecca Riley, 6. Kayla Trevino and Brett Mann.

Weather Forecast

Click for Gothenburg, Nebraska Forecast

e-Subscription Login