Sunday, June 24, 2018
Text Size

Local man puts hat in ring for county surveyor

Election deadlines draw nearer

A Gothenburg man is challenging Dawson County surveyor Mark Streit for his seat.

Since last week, Shawn Boyd has filed for the position.

Both men are Republicans.

Incumbents have until Feb. 18 to file for office while challengers must meet a March 3 deadline.

City of Gothenburg

Two seats remain open on the Gothenburg City Council as well as the position of mayor.

No one has yet filed.

District 20 school board

Two incumbents, Nate Wyatt and Jon Hudson, have filed to retain their seats on the District 20 board and Devin Brundage has indicated his desire for one of the three seats open.

Hospital board

Two seats are open on the Gothenburg Memorial Hospital board and no one has yet filed.

Airport Authority

Incumbent Roger Tederman and new appointee Lori Hoesel have both indicated their desire to remain on the Gothenburg Airport Authority board.

Two seats are open on the board.

Dawson County offices

Incumbents who have filed for re-election to county offices include county clerk Karla Zlatkovsky, sheriff Gary Reiber, treasurer Sharon Wood, surveyor Mark Streit and assessor John Moore.

Register of deeds Ruth Meyer will retire this year and two Lexington women, Dian Lauby and Debra Stuchlik, have filed for the position.

Three are vying for the seat of clerk of the district court Sherry Warner who will also retire. They are Becky Boryca of Cozad and Maria Reutlinger-Maravilla and Jackie Rowan, both of Lexington.

Two have indicated their desire to continue serve as county commissioners—Bill Stewart, who represents District 2 and District 3 representative Dennis Rickertsen. Both are from Lexington.

Two seats also remain open on the county weed board.

County races are partisan and all who have filed are Republicans.

Nebraska Legislature

Matt Williams of Gothenburg has filed for the 36th District legislative seat occupied by State Sen. John Wightman who will be forced out by term limits at the end of the year.