Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Text Size

One more incumbent files for office

Re-election filing deadline Tuesday.

Incumbents seeking re-election had until Tuesday to file.

Challengers must meet a Monday, March 1, deadline.

Since last week, the latest incumbent to file is public defender and Republican Derek Mitchell of Gothenburg.


Gothenburg west ward council man Jeff Whiting and Tim Strauser, who represents east ward, have no challengers so far.

Nor does Mayor Joyce Hudson.

Of the three seats open on the District 20 board, incumbents Scott France and Nate Wyatt have filed as well as newcomer Jon Hudson.

Incumbent Pat Hecox is the third incumbent whose seat is up for election.

Gothenburg Memorial Hospital board incumbents Larry Gill and Brent Block will run for re-election.

Incumbent Craig Bartruff has also filed for the lone seat open on the Gothenburg Airport Authority.


The following county incumbents, who are also all Republican, earlier announced their intent to run.

Challengers are listed after the incumbent’s name.

Assessor—John Phillip Moore.

Attorney—Elizabeth Waterman

Clerk—Karla Zlatovsky

District court clerk—Sherry Warner

Register of deeds—Ruth Meyer

Sheriff—Gary Reiber, Paul Schwarz

Surveyor—Jacob Ripp

County treasurer—Sharon Wood, Allison Luther

In races for county commissioner, Bill Brecks of Lexington filed for the District 3 seat now held by fellow Republican Roger Bauer of Overton who had not filed by Tuesday afternoon.

Incumbent and Republican Bill Stewart seeks re-election to his District 2 commissioner seat.


District 36 state senator—John Wightman

The primary election is May 11 followed by the general election Nov. 2.